QEGS logo



Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School Horncastle

In 2014, the Government announced changes to A Levels in England. Reformed A Levels in a few subjects would be first taught in September 2015 with more reformed courses introduced for first teaching in September 2016 and 2017. This means that students in Lower Sixth are studying new A Levels in all subjects whilst those in the Upper Sixth are studying a combination of ‘old’ and reformed A Levels.

For students in the Upper Sixth, new A Levels are being studied in the following subjects:

·         Art & Design

·         Biology

·         Business Studies

·         Chemistry

·         Drama

·         Economics

·         French

·         Geography

·         German

·         History

·         Music

·         Physical Education

·         Physics

·         Religious Studies

·         Spanish


The AS examinations taken in these new subjects have been separated from the A Level qualification. This means that marks gained in AS examination during the summer examinations of the Lower Sixth will not contribute to the final A Level grade in these subjects.

Students in the Lower Sixth will no longer take any external AS examinations in the summer term.