QEGS logo



Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School Horncastle

An average man feeling their January blues will condemn the Siberian climates of a winter morning but our runners rumbled with excitement to the cool temperatures and the damp ground. It’s county cross country day at Market Rasen Rugby Club.

Mr Cope, alongside Mrs. Wilkinson, fuels his inner child with a hot chocolate, courtesy of Umair and Gaurav’s catholicity of good nature.  

A buzz fills the air; the typical aura of cross country day as the runners huddle into their respective schools. A shootout of glares to oppositions commence. By inspecting the laps and reading the maps, the QEGS runners jog their memories for the upcoming course.

The first race; Y7 girls finished with Isobel Leggate finishing in an impressive 17th place.

The second race; Y7 boys, consisted of the talented Callum Kiss, Will Cheer, Mattie Hunter and Oliver Fields, with Oliver coming in 21st place.QEGS cross country participants

Next was the inter-year boy’s with Matthew Waters and Alex Ellis both performing to exceptional standard; Alex Ellis coming in 4th place.

The junior girl’s race comprised a team featuring Kirsty Gladding and Ella Bennett, who came in 10th place, which in comparison to her older brother, Declan Bennett’s respectable 18th place, does raise the question of who really is the most talented in their family…

Up next was the senior girl’s race; Emily Hockham in at 18th and Hattie Needham coming in a classy 12th place.

The last race was the inter-year girl’s that showcased a team of Bea Spendlove, Joanna Ward and Megan Bennett, Megan achieving 27th place in a competitive race.

Congratulations go to Isobel Leggate, George Parkinson, Ella Bennett, Alex Ellis, Hattie Needham and Emily Hockham who have all qualified for the Anglian round which is at Abington Park, Northampton on Saturday 4th February.  Good luck to all six students.

Thoughts go out to Mr. Cope and Mrs Wilkinson for making the day possible and many thanks to Ellie English, Kieran Gillespie, Tom Johnson, Umair Khan and Gaurav Kakkar, for helping out.  

Written by Umair Khan